On a + note


The bad times make the good times even better…

Posted in on a + note by flickfancy on March 24, 2014

Untitled2I borrowed my husband’s SUV over the weekend.

I know better, but it was parked in the driveway and I had a bunch of stuff to haul so it seemed like a good idea. I climbed into his vehicle, adjusted the seat and as usual, the radio was set to a country music station. Now I am not a country fan; I am definitely a rock and roller with a little folk, Motown and classical tossed in for variety. However, changing the channel in the other guy’s vehicle is a virtual declaration of war at our house (it’s almost as bad as using the other guy’s scissors or power tools!). I was in a hurry to get my errands done, so I just put his vehicle in drive and endured the country tunes.

However, somewhere between stopping at the market for eggs and swimming lessons I found myself singing along to the tune Helluva Life  from the album by Battle Creek, Michigan country music star Frankie Ballard. It’s a catchy tune but the phrase that caught my attention was “…the bad times make the good times even better…”

Now, I am guessing that country music fans around the world already know the connection between bad and good times. But honesty, I had never thought about bad times being the bellwether or precursor to good times,

OrUntitled

It’s not the first time this idea of the bad times teaching us about the good times has appeared in movies, poetry, fiction or song, but the common message is always:

► through tough times, we learn, evolve and grow

►tough times expose the inner strength we never knew we had

► nothing happens by accident, tough times happen for a reason

►when you overcome tough times, you understand the good times better

Or…

Whatever relationships you have attracted in your life at this moment, are precisely the ones you need in your life at this moment.
There is a hidden meaning behind all events, and this hidden meaning is serving your own evolution– Deepak Chopra

So my apologies to all the country music fans, Blake Shelton and The Voice followers for under-estimating the power and wisdom of a country tune.  The next time I borrow my husband’s SUV I will be a bit more open to listening to his country music station and songs like:

Desperado (Eagles)

Fishing in the dark (Nitty Gritty Dirt Band)

This one’s for the girls (Martina McBride)

Life’s a dance (John Michael Montgomery)

And, if you are struggling through some tough times, the good news is they are the training program for fully embracing the good times!

Have a great week.

Kitty Pope                                                                                        #12  March 2014

kpope@library.guelph.on.ca

Leave a Reply

