On a + note


Hurray for the 5th edition… #47

Posted in on a + note by flickfancy on November 25, 2013

kitty#47I am not usually a dictionary reader; spell check killed the dictionary business!  However, when the fifth edition of the Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations came across my desk last week, I made an exception. With over 5,000 witty one-liners organized into 250 subjects: from advice to lies, from debt to weddings, I couldn’t put it down.

There are hilarious quotes on subjects ranging from argument to diets, and from computers to the weather. They are from classic humorists like Mark Twain and Woody Allen and new humorists like Steve Martin, Rita Rudner, Kurt Vonnegut, and Robin Williams.

Who does the editor of the 5th edition find the funniest?
Oscar Wilde (1854–1900) – with 92 entries

Who is the most quoted woman in the 5th edition?
Dorothy Parker (1893–1967)

But, the top five quotes that made me smile this morning included:

“I never forget a face, but in your case I’ll be glad to make an exception”Groucho Marx (1890-1977)

“Between two evils, I always pick the one I never tried before”Mae West (1892-1980)

“To lose one parent …. may be regarded as a misfortune; to lose both, looks like carelessness” –  Oscar Wilde (1854-1900)

“The trouble with having an open mind… is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it”T. Pratchett

and

“I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific”Lily Tomlin

Have a great week!

Kitty Pope                                                                     #47 November 2013

kpope@library.guelph.on.ca

Leave a Reply

