On a + note


In praise of old friends #3: 2013.

Posted in on a + note by flickfancy on January 21, 2013

kitty#50Last week, I shared my story of reconnecting with a long lost friend. This week, another longtime friend stopped by for a visit. Since then, several folks have asked me why old friends make such an impact on our lives. I had to think about it for a while, but I think these are good reasons why:

►Old friends truly know us. There is no fooling someone who has known you for more than 30 years (like my friend Ann, pictured). They can see through all of the bluff and all of the stuff.

►Old friends accept you the way you are, with all of your faults and failings, and still are your friends!

►Old friends hold up a mirror and teach us about ourselves. They remember where you came from and know where you want to go, even when you forget!

►When you fall down, old friends lift you up, dust you off, and get you get back on the horse, even when you never want to ride again.

►Old friends make life interesting and rich with experiences and fun. My oldest friends make me do stuff that no one else could convince me to do. For example, I would have never gone to my high school reunion if a very old friend had not dared me to go!

►Old friends teach us about listening, compassion, and caring for others. With old friends, it’s not all about me.

►Old friends give our lives context. They remember the good and the bad when we forget!

►Finally, to quote an old adage, “friends are God’s way of looking after us.”
So, to all of my old friends (and I have been blessed with quite a few) and to all of you who connect with me every week, I thank you for holding my hand  through this adventure in library land and for laughing at all of my jokes.

Old friends make life’s adventure so much fun!

Kitty Pope                                                                                               #3 January 2013

kpope@library.guelph.on.ca

One Response to 'In praise of old friends #3: 2013.'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'In praise of old friends #3: 2013.'.

  1. Ann Taylor said,

    Great photo, great visit, great food, it was lovely to see you, dear old friend.


Leave a Reply

