On a + note


The Joys of Moving #47: 2010

Posted in on a + note by Admin on January 3, 2011

The Joys of Moving

How did we collect all this stuff? Where did it all come from? Do we need this? You guessed it; we are moving. As always, I look for the learning in all experiences, and this one is no different. This is what I have learned from packing and unpacking boxes (and boxes and boxes) over the last few weeks.

• No surprise here. My first bit of advice is to get a dumpster! At around $300 per week, it is a good investment in your sanity.
• You would think that, as a librarian, I would understand weeding is necessary to control the size of my clothes closest. Every time we move, I say I am going to adopt “add one, subtract one” philosophy. However, every time it’s time to move, I take loads of t-shirts to Goodwill.
• Don’t pack too soon. There is a point at which eating off paper plates gets really tedious.
• Trust me. You’ll never use ninety percent of the stuff in your files (paper and digital)!
• Edit your photos files before you move! It sounds like a no brainer, but I was shocked at how many duplicate and terrible photos I deleted.
• Seven years ago, the first thing we set up in our new East Peoria house was our bed! In 2011, the first thing you set up is our new Guelph house was the computer! I don’t know if that means anything, but I thought it was interesting. This from a person who vowed never to let a computer enter her kitchen!
• Just like weeding…if in doubt, throw it out!
• Paint before you move in. It is so much easier painting an empty room!

Amidst an array of boxes, deep in the suburbs of Guelph, Ontario, Canada, I hope you have a swell week. Hopefully, by next Sunday, I actually will be able to find the kitchen table and my laptop!
Kitty Pope
kpope@library.guelph.on.ca #47 January/11

One Response to 'The Joys of Moving #47: 2010'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'The Joys of Moving #47: 2010'.

  1. Sue said,

    Always love your posts- they always give me a lift! tried sending you message thru your listed email in guelph but it came back:( Whats a good way to keep in touch? 🙂


Leave a Reply

