On a + note


#25 2010: It’s a Balance

Posted in on a + note by kendal0 on August 2, 2010

When stressed, I naturally launch myself into warp speed, ramp up my activity, and quickly leave behind activities that keep my life and work in balance.

First used in the 1970s, the expression and concept of a “work-life balance” refers to prioritizing an individual’s work, career, and ambitions with one’s personal life, family, and recreation. In a recent study for the Center for Work-Life Policy, 64% of American workers believe that their work pressures are "self-inflicted" and that it is taking a toll on them. The study also indicates that more than 70% believe their job is affecting their personal life adversely and that work related stress is negatively impacting the rest of their life! I was shocked at these findings! More than two-thirds of us are out of balance.

However, in stressful times to accomplish all that I must, I stop my exercise routine, cut short my sleep, cheat Diefenbaker out of his nightly walk, and eliminate “me” time. I stop reading library books at breakfast, stop making cards on Sunday morning, and stop making jam on the hottest day of the year. The more stressed I become, the more “life” I do away with, and the more I focus on work. How stupid is that?

I know better; I know that a positive work-life balance keeps me productive and able to withstand daily pressures. I understand that balance and variety helps keep life in perspective. Somehow, though, I seem to easily forget the “life balance” when faced with a huge to-do list and loads of tough decisions to make.

So, as much as I have said it before, this week I am working on rebalancing my work and home life so that I can be happy, successful, and accomplished in both!! What will I do? Well, here is my list so far…..

1. Walk more. I will get moving at least 30 minutes per day.

2. Rest more. I need to get back to my usual eight hours.

3. Go to the library and check out some good summer reads.

4. Make some strawberry jam this weekend.

5. And yes, Diefenbaker, we will take a walk in the park every night this week!

It is easy to forget what keeps us healthy and happy and what balances our lives. Life is all about a balance between what we have to do and what we want to do. Here is to more wants and less haves!

Kitty Pope
kpope @ alliancelibrarysystem.com #25 August/10

Leave a Reply

