On a + note


#22 2010, Stopping To Smell The Roses

Posted in on a + note by kendal0 on July 12, 2010

I am your typical A type/Orange/hyper personality – always on the go, always pushing ahead to the next project or assignment. Polite society would call me “an early adapter”. I am always planning for tomorrow, focusing on actions and moving at a frenetic speed to get there. And, as a typical baby boomer, wasting my time is a cardinal sin; nothing presses my buttons quicker than having to simply byde my time, waiting for stuff. I always have an audio book to listen to if I am in a waiting room, or my blackberry to keep me entertained. I hate wasting time. Maybe it’s my generation; we are so focused on actions and accomplishments. Or maybe it’s being a library leader and being focused on public service and the customer that feeds my intolerance for wasted time. Whatever the deep psychological reasons are for this malady, my husband will happily tell you, I am the most impatient person in his world!

But recently, a friend reminded me that to be at my very best in these really challenging times, as a; librarian, community volunteer, wife, friend and sister and daughter I need to slow down on occasion and take a breath. My friend said, in her laconic southern accent, (that as a Canadian I find do delightful) “You don’t have to rush through all the details all the time. Sometimes, it’s appropriate and even essential to slow down and enjoy the adventure. I am not suggesting coasting, or disengaging, but sometimes it is appropriate and even healthy to change the pace, stop and smell the roses”.

At the time I simply nodded and took in her advice. But, over the last week her southern drawl and wise words have been resonating in my ear. And, I knew she was right. To be a good library leader I need to know when to forge ahead, but also when to slow down and pace myself. This is tough, but essential, because if you rev on high all the time, when you need that extra serge of energy, creativity, or inner strength it’s not there.

So my goal this week will be to exercise a little patience and sniff a few flowers!

Have a great week.

Kitty Pope #22 July 2010

kpope

PS: No, this is not a new dog in my arms. It is a rescued Westie (unclipped!!) I was simply the model. I am happy to report hours after this photo hit the internet he had a new and loving home…a home with kids and loads of love!!..kp

One Response to '#22 2010, Stopping To Smell The Roses'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '#22 2010, Stopping To Smell The Roses'.

  1. NLP Book : said,

    most of the time i listen to audiobooks while surfing the net, i love to multitask he he “


Leave a Reply

