On a + note


#20 2010, The problem with dogs…

Posted in on a + note by kendal0 on June 28, 2010

The problem with dogs is

they don’t last very long

The problem with dogs is they aren’t long livers like birds or turtles. You finally get them to not jump on the sofa, and they are gone! This past week my beloved blind Welsh Terrier, William Shakespeare, aka Bill passed away. He was 17.5 years young.

Dogs are not a popular domestic animal in the Middle East. So when I got home from Abu Dhabi, I started researching “the perfect dog”. It had to be a dog that was not too big, like my previous Sheepdogs and Malamutes. He had to be fuzzy, have loads of energy and have a great sense of humor. I finally settled on the effervescent Welsh Terrier with its rugged outgoing personality, boundless energy and teddy bear appearance.

Bill was born in Saskatchewan and at eight weeks he became my best friend. Every evening he was at the back door, “wooing” until I took him for a walk. Rain or shine, snow or heat as a puppy and even last week he was always ready to go for an evening walk. In Prince Albert we walked to the park, in Calgary we walked along the rugged biking trails and in East Peoria, we wandered along the Illinois River. Bill was a ball dog, nothing was better than a game of ball, off the back deck, in the back yard or at the beach he was always ready for a game of fetch. And, Bill knew people, he knew the regular walkers, he knew the kids and of course he knew the girls…he was a flirt!

Bill’s life took on new meaning when in 2006 he became blind and the mascot for the Mid Illinois Talking Book Centre. He posed for posters and numerous pictures. He would don a red silk bow tie and accompanied me as I talked to community groups about library services for the visually impaired and the importance of the talking book program. Bill always attracted a crowd as we walked, rode elevators or visited libraries. Even the quietest of folks would pat him and ask about talking books. Bill could light up a room and he lit up my heart.

The problem with dogs is, they don’t last very long.

kpope

4 Responses to '#20 2010, The problem with dogs…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '#20 2010, The problem with dogs…'.

  1. judi said,

    Many hugs to you for losing your puppy. I lost my Sam last year; it still tugs at my heart. I was so fortunate he was in my life for so many years, and I know you are blessed simply by having had your Bill as long as you did.
    Much sympathy & hugs,
    Judi

  2. Kathleen Milligan said,

    My husband and I got our first dog about 2 years ago – a rescued Schnauzer mix. I hadn’t had a dog since I was a kid, and that one stayed outside all the time. It took a lot of coaxing before I agreed to get a dog, but this fellow has won my heart. Both my husband and I hope to pass on before Skeever does since we’d die anyway from a broken heart. He’s about 7 years old, so the clock is ticking… My condolences on your loss.

  3. Diane said,

    A beautiful elegy for a noble dog and pet and mascot for MITB! He will be missed by all who knew him!

  4. MaryAlyce Hofsess said,

    My condolences, Kitty. I never want to have to live without a dog and you are right — they don’t last very long.–not nearly long enough. You are in my thoughts.

    MaryAlyce


Leave a Reply

