On a + note


When the oxygen mask deploys

Posted in on a + note by Admin on May 24, 2010

When the oxygen mask deploys…

During the last few weeks, I have stumbled across several articles promoting the notion that the way you treat yourself is indicative of how you treat others. If you are disrespectful to your mind and body, ignore your health, take your creative spirit for granted, and dismiss your emotional needs, then you likely treat others in the same disrespectful manner. Basically, your relationship with others is reflected in your relationship with yourself. If you are gentle and patient with yourself, you are likely to do the same with friends, family, pets and peers. Or, as my Mom may have phrased it:

“You can’t love someone else, unless you love yourself first.”

The underlying message is to make meaningful connections in life. At work, at home, and at play, we first need to take care and respect ourselves. Through that process, we are able to turn outward and do the same for others. It all has to start with you looking after your diet, your health, and your emotional and creative needs. This is not easy for us in library land, as we are so engrained with the notion of public service. However, we can only be generous, kind, and caring to others if we are generous, kind, and caring with ourselves. Interestingly, I had never before thought of it in that context.

So, this week, I am committed to taking better care of myself. I am concentrating on: • Eating a more balanced diet; this means less chocolate and more celery.
• Exercising 60 minutes each day with a 15 minute walk at coffee time and twice around the park with Diefenbaker in the evening.
• Spending more time replenishing my creative well. I will include a bit more reading time over breakfast and head to bed 15 minutes earlier.

My personal goal is a better me, so I can truly make a difference in the lives of the people about whom I care and in the community I happily serve. If this all sounds like a bit more “me time” in my day, that’s about right! I will push away some stuff that, in the bigger picture, is irrelevant, so I can have a bit more time just for me.

In retrospect, I guess the flight attendant is right. When the oxygen mask deploys, you should always put yours on first, pull the straps until snug around your face, and then help others!

Have a great week and take care of yourself.

P.S. I think I must be traveling too much when I start quoting the flight attendant!

Kitty Pope
kpope@alliancelibrarysystem.com #15 May 2010

Leave a Reply

