On a + note


Keys to success

Posted in on a + note by Admin on February 15, 2010

Keys to success

What makes a librarian successful? This was a question I was asked by a library science student several weeks ago. I thought I knew the answer, and then I started talking to folks in library land. This is what they told me.

  • For the library community, success and lifelong learning seem inextricably intertwined. It’s no surprise that the drive to constantly be learning was library land’s #1 key to personal and professional success.
  • The second most popular answer to my impromptu survey on keys to a librarian’s success was a passion for serving people and ultimately making a difference. Folks repeatedly commented that it is that burning desire in the pit of their stomach that keeps them focused and searching.
  • Several folks suggested that being inquisitive was fundamental to success. Striving for the best answer, as opposed to settling for just any answer, seems to be a factor when quantifying success.
  • Research has shown that 87% of highly successful people are at their desk by 7 a.m. “Early at work” is a matter of training and routine; I continue to be amazed by how much I actually accomplish between 6 and 8 a.m. Having said that, I must confess that I am naturally a morning person, so it is easy for me to say that the early bird catches the worm!
  • According to a recent Google survey, more than 70% of highly successful people eat a protein-loaded breakfast, walk daily, watch less than 60 minutes of television each day, and read more than 120 minutes every day.

· My personal key to success is laughter. I think the person who incorporates humor into their daily life has an edge on success. It opens your heart, mind, and soul to new ideas and, ultimately, success (however you measure it).

So, to all those library students out there looking for the keys to success: embrace lifelong learning, be passionate about what they do, be inquisitive, start early, support a healthy lifestyle, and laugh!

And, thanks for asking.

Kitty Pope
kpope #1 February15/2010

Leave a Reply

