On a + note


It takes a team

Posted in on a + note by Admin on February 8, 2010

It takes a team

On a + note was hatched on a Sunday afternoon last February, as I sat at the kitchen table thinking about the financial crisis and wondered how libraries were going to navigate this new world. On Monday morning, I emailed “Leading in Tough Times” to more than 250 libraries that are the Alliance Library System and started my day. By noon, my email was lighting up with folks asking about the article. In that first week, I got twelve emails. So, the following Sunday, I penned “How to Control the Fear” and sent it to ALS member libraries plus some library friends. The results were nothing short of astonishing; all week, I received comments and encouragement from across the country. It was as if I had found my voice.

Most often, I am asked where my ideas come from. The simple answer is: everywhere. I get emails filled with comments and ideas. I am an ardent reader, and my students ask the most interesting questions. To keep track of the writing process week after week, I have a mind map in my office that helps me develop new ideas and capture trends.

Each week, I start with an idea and a photo. The photo is often the toughest part of the whole process. At one point early on, I suggested using someone beside me in the photo; it was getting a bit taxing. The fire storm that came back was, “No, we want to see your familiar face (and Dief’s) on Monday morning; it gives us a sense of confidence and often a smile.” So, I now live with a camera in my pocket.

However, the process doesn’t end the flash of a camera. It take more than my efforts to make sure On a + note makes it out into the world each week.

On the anniversary of the first On a + note, it is my pleasure to introduce to you the folks who help me publish every Monday morning. Genna (in the front row) is working on her MLIS from San Jose State University and is my amazing editor. Sandy (with the green necklace) meticulously does the photos, and Susan (the redhead) makes sure On a + note goes out weekly to all 6,327 recipients.

To the On a + note team and all of you, my readers from South Africa to Vancouver Island, thank you for your unwavering support, ideas, and wisdom. It truly is a pleasure and an honor to connect with you every week and, in some small way, share your journey. Library land is an amazing community and is made all the better by your passion and commitment.

Kitty Pope
kpope #52 February 2010

Leave a Reply

