On a + note


Season’s greetings

Posted in on a + note by Admin on December 21, 2009

Season’s greetings…..

I have been wracking my brain for what could I share with you on Christmas Eve 2009 that would bring a smile to your face? My answer: some great quotes I have collected over the years.

· From Peter Golkin of the National Air and Space Museum: “My two favorite things in life are libraries and bicycles. They both move people forward without wasting anything.”

· The classic quote from Garrison Keillor: “Librarians…possess a vast store of politeness. These people get asked regularly the dumbest questions on God’s green earth.”

· From Mark Herring in the April 2001 American Libraries: “The internet is marvelous, but to claim, as some now do, that it’s making libraries obsolete is as silly as saying shoes have made feet unnecessary.”

· As a kid’s librarian, I smile when remembering Lemony Snicket in The Ersatz Elevators quipping that “a good library will never be too neat or too dusty because somebody will always be in it, taking books off the shelves and staying up late reading them.”

·

Currently, I really identify with Horace who said “adversity has the effect of eliciting talent which, in prosperous circumstances, would have lain dormant”. How true, in light of the last 12 months!!!

· But, perhaps my all-time favorite quote comes from my father, Eric Pope, who was an inventor and a man of letters. He would often say to us kids that “the difference between a rut and a grave is simply their dimensions.” We never quite knew what he meant, but now his wisdom seems far reaching!

From my family (including the wild Diefenbaker!) to yours, I wish you the very best holiday season filled with fun, family, and friends. Season’s greetings and the hope for a wonderful new year!

Kitty Pope #45 December 2009
kpope

Leave a Reply

