On a + note


Where do you get your strength?

Posted in on a + note by Admin on November 30, 2009

Where do you get your strength?

We all have our support systems to get us through the tough times: our family, our friends, our faith, and that inner voice that just keeps us going. Over the last few weeks, folks have been asking me where I get that professional inner strength that enables me to write On a + note every week and to be a library leader. My inner strength comes from:

  • The membership. The dialogue I have with the 250 libraries I serve continues to feed my need for strength and courage to make the tough decisions and keep focused on our multitype mission.
  • My peers. The folks with whom I spend my day continually challenge me to make good decisions that are focused on service excellence.
  • My boss. I am truly blessed to work for a board president who has confidence enough to stand back and let me get the job done. On the flip side, he is always there when needed.
  • My supportive friends and family who know when I need some TLC or an escape. With just a cup of tea in my sister-in-law’s kitchen, a walk with the dogs, or a hug from my husband, my inner strength to do the very best I can is renewed.
  • My health. I make a concerted effort to stay healthy, walk, eat my veggies, take my vitamins, and exercise. You can’t be strong if you are pukey.
  • My environment. I protect myself from overly negative things and hostile environments. I truly believe that negativity rubs off if you are exposed to it on a daily basis. I control my exposure to the news, reality television, and negative people.
  • My downtime. I try to not be connected to my work 24/7. For a passionate librarian, this is tough, I but I know too much work makes Kitty a dull girl.
  • Laughter, laughter and more laughter. It truly is the source of my inner strength.
  • And when all else fails, I resort to chocolate…the darker the better!

Where do you get your strength? What are the things that enable you to be an effective library leader? Understanding what makes you strong will empower you to create an environment that supports the kind of leader you want to be. So, pass around the chocolate, and have a great week!

Kitty Pope #40 November 2009

kpope

Leave a Reply

