On a + note


Support the dream

Posted in on a + note by Admin on September 21, 2009

Support the dream

Several weeks ago, I had the opportunity to meet Abby. She is an animated second-year music student at Western Illinois University in Macomb, Illinois, and she is thinking about becoming a librarian. So, we spent the day together talking about library land and the possibilities a library career presents. We talked about service to the community and visited one of the best librarians I know, Amy Falasz-Peterson at the Fondulc District Library in East Peoria. We talked about job opportunities, different kinds of library work, and the fun that is library school!!! (Sorry, that was a bad joke!).

My day with Abby reminded me of how “innocently” I fell into library land. One summer afternoon, I walked into the wrong university office, filled out the wrong form, and a month later, I was welcomed into the library science program at the University of Western Ontario.

I was flattered, but I had aspirations of being something much more exciting, like a broadcaster or archaeologist, not a plain old librarian. However, having missed the university enrollment deadline and with no money, I thought a year at library school seemed ok. I was 20, and time was not of the essence!!! I did my year at lib school, had lots of fun, and got what I thought would be a summer job as a kids’ librarian. It was so much fun, connecting the right kid to the right book that I stayed in Owen Sound, until the next year, and then the next year. Thirty-five years later it’s still fun!!

But, I digress. Back to Abby….

She is now back at university, working hard as all music students do. I know she is still thinking about our day together and wondering what her life would be like as a librarian and what a difference she could make in the world.

I truly hope I lit a passion in her that will grow into a burning desire to become a librarian and to make a difference in her community and in her young life. She has passion, enthusiasm and calm wisdom well beyond her years. She would make a great kids’ librarian and we all know kids librarians grow up to make the best library administrators; if you can handle 25 story hour kids, you can handle a library board!!

Librarianship is a great profession; it is never boring, always challenging, and best of all, we make a difference in the lives of the people we serve. Thanks Abby, and I hope I get an invitation to your lib school graduation!!!

kpope #30 September 2009

Leave a Reply

