On a + note


Pollyanna all the way!

Posted in on a + note by Admin on September 14, 2009

Pollyanna all the way!

Last month I visited my lifelong friend, Robin. She is a vivacious first grade teacher who, on April 24, 2008, was in a near fatal car accident. She was hit by another car and broke almost every bone in her body, including her neck! I still remember her husband’s voice cracking as he told me what had transpired. Her doctors said she shouldn’t have survived, but she did. We had a great few days together catching up and talking as only old…very old…friends do.

As we chatted that sunny afternoon, I took the opportunity to ask her what she had learned, and this is what she told me.

“In the hospital, hooked up to every machine imaginable, it became clear that the only thing I could control was my attitude. It was then and there, just a few days after the accident, that I made a conscious choice to commit, everyday for the rest of my life, to being positive. I now start everyday with a smile and a thank you for all my blessings: for my wonderful husband and children, for my sister who came every day and massaged my broken feet, for all the friends who read to me, and yes, to the library staff who brought me books and words of encouragement. The circumstances of my accident and the pain would be the same, regardless. But, a positive attitude is life-assuring and made it all bearable. Interestingly, I am sure my positive attitude also affected the care I got, strengthened the ability of my family to endure the stress, and helped me recover more quickly. Sixteen months later, I remind myself every morning of my decision to be Pollyanna all the way!”

Robin went on to say, “Kitty, being positive is not just fluff, it’s not an act; it keeps me focused, not on my aches and pains, but rather on my gratitude for the doctors, nurses, friends, family and library staff who looked after me during those long months convalescing. A positive attitude colors the way you look at the world and makes all the difference between simply enduring and celebrating the day.”

As I drove back to Peoria, I was reminded of how fortunate we all are to work in a library community that is committed to making a positive difference in the lives of our families and those we serve.

Thanks Robin! You are the best!

kpope #29 September 2009

Leave a Reply

