On a + note


How to control the fear

Posted in on a + note by Admin on March 2, 2009

How to control the fear

In March 1933, FDR, in his inaugural address said: “…the only thing we have to fear is fear itself…” which in these tumultuous times maybe truer than we want to admit. But, how when the world is in turmoil do you control that inner voice that is screaming out: run, hide, eat or even better, buy some shoes and everything will be ok!!! (sorry boys…it’s a girl thing). As you close your eyes at night and review the day, how do you rein in that inner voice of doom and gloom?

1. You have a choice every morning as you put your feet on the floor. Will I be positive or negative today? That is when a decision to view the glass as half full needs to click in.

2. Surround yourself with positive things early on in the day. I listen to my favorite tunes as I drive to work…a Motown moment puts a spring in my step. Nothing like Diana Ross to get me singing and it’s hard to worry when you are belting out “Ain’t no mountain high enough….”

3. During the day accent the positive and avoid the negative. If you have lunch every day with a “naysayer”, someone who always has a negative spin on things, it’s likely to rub off on you…so stay away. Stick with the positive folks.

4. When I am writing, which as a library director I do a lot, I always proof for spelling, but now I also proof for the positive. Have I phrased anything in the negative that I can turn around to the positive?

5. Throughout the day I make an effort to share the positive, with peers, staff or the board…a word of encouragement, a positive email or some positive news. Yes, good news should travel fast!!

6. Avoid media that yells doom and gloom. The television has an off button!!!

7. At the ends of the day, when I am tired and I begin to hear that inner voice again, I take my welsh terrier Diefenbaker for an after dinner walk. Needless to say in the last few months, he has been walked a lot. The end result is I push away that fearful voice, Dief is happy and I sleep better, which makes it much easier in the morning to put my feet on the floor and decide to accent the positive!!!

Controlling my inner fear enables me to be a better library leader and navigate these troubled times.

Ain’t no mountain high enough…….

Kitty Pope

kpope #2 March/09

Leave a Reply

